He Waited ‘Til You Took A Big Bite Of Honey Cake?

Anthony Weiner got into it with a heckler today. On the eve of Rosh Hashanah, a man took issue with Weiner’s violations of Jewish law and common decency. The audio is muffled, at least to me, so I can’t be sure how many commandments Weiner is said to have broken, but his midrashic tweets after the incident confirm what a great loss to Jon Stewart it will be if Weiner is not elected mayor: “if by melt down you mean stood up to a heckler. Yep. Did that. That’s what Mayors have to do sometimes.” And another: “In defense of me the guy waited til I took a bite of honey cake to take a run at me.”

In defense of Weiner, yes, that was a low blow. But in defense of the critical representative of Orthodoxy, how else could he have gotten in a word edgewise? If I were (lowercase) mayor, I like to think that I would eat honey cake all day long so that if anyone told me I was a deviant, I would not contradict the ignorant constituent but would instead say, “begging your pardon, Guv’nor, but I am enjoying some fine honey cake. Could I offer you a bite?” I would be as inclusive as I could possibly be and eat honey cake in the style of Lebanon, Greece, Tel Aviv, Cairo, and points beyond. I would not prohibit any honey cake bites larger than sixteen ounces. And I would subsidize honey-cake making workshops for previously-under-honey-caked groups until all New Yorkers had access to fine honey cake within a three-block walk.

Leave a Reply

