Of Course I Love The Beautiful Tenth Amendment

There’s a headline in today’s National Review Online: “Trump: An Opportunity For Federalism,” and let me say, have I ever “mocked anyone who invokes the Tenth Amendment”?  Of course not.  Have I ever even thought to myself that “any discussion of federalism [was] code for Jim Crow or even slavery”?  Hmm, maybe, possibly, I may have thought that.  But no matter.  Have I mentioned lately how the Tenth Amendment is a great amendment?  It is the last but not least of the first beautiful ten amendments otherwise known as the Bill of Rights.  We are going to need every single one of those ten amendments real quick.  Subsidiarity, great Catholic and catholic principle.  It doesn’t just apply, as National Review author points out mockingly, just to “stinky cheeses, raw milk, microbrews, and weed.”  He is right.  Let a hundred flowers of progressive federalism bloom, along with the reactionary Keynesianism I expect from the new administration.

Leave a Reply

